One of the advantages of Florida’s insurance laws is the existence of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. Your insurance is intended to cover you in the event of a car accident. So for most accidents, even those resulting in personal injury, it doesn’t matter whether the other driver was insured or not—your insurance covers you. The minimum legal coverage is $10,000 and automatically covers 80% of your reasonable medical expenses and 60% of lost wages.
Unfortunately, if you want to take full advantage of your PIP coverage, new Florida laws require that your doctor declare a “medical emergency condition” exists to merit full coverage. Otherwise, your coverage is limited to $2500.
If your injuries sustained cost you more than your PIP coverage allows, you have to seek compensation from the other driver’s insurance, and if the other driver is uninsured, you should consult an auto accident attorney–you may have to seek compensation with a lawsuit against the driver.
If you have been hurt in a car accident and are having difficulty getting coverage for your injuries in Miami, please contact The Cochran Firm South Florida for a free case evaluation today.