Drug possession can have consequences ranging from a loss of your license for up to two years to jail time and heavy fines. It is important that you do not plead guilty to a drug possession charge before you have talked to one of our experienced Florida criminal defense attorneys. This is a murky area of the law, an area in which even having paraphernalia, or a prescription medication that isn’t yours can result in serious penalties. But there are particulars to every case that can be used to have your charges dismissed or reduced.
Penalties for Drug Possession in Florida
- Marijuana – less than 20 ounces is a first degree misdemeanor; 1 year in jail, $1000 fine
- More than 20 ounces is a third degree felony; 5 years in jail, $5000 fine
- Controlled substance – possession of cocaine, meth, LSD, ecstasy, less than 10 grams of heroin or another controlled substance is a third degree felony; 5 years in jail, $5000 fine
- More than 10 grams of heroin is a first degree felony; 30 years in jail, $10,000 in fines
- Unlawful chemicals – possession of chemicals that could be used to make drugs is a second degree felony; 15 years in jail, $10,000 in fines
- Paraphernalia – possession of any item that could be used to distribute drugs is a first degree misdemeanor; 1 year in jail, $1000 fine
- Prescription drugs – possession of a prescription that is not yours can range from a misdemeanor to a third degree felony
Perhaps the officers involved acted carelessly or intentionally suppressed information. In other instances, you were unaware of the drug being in your possession. These and other avenues will be thoroughly explored by our attorneys. We will work tirelessly to ensure your freedom is protected.
If you have been charged with possession in or around Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, West Palm, or Ft. Myers, Florida, please contact the experienced criminal defense attorneys at the Cochran Firm South Florida to schedule an initial consultation today.